Reviews & Reports

Here you can find reviews and infos about our shows:

Clown Bar (March 2020)
Uni Graz Review (German)

Trojan Barbie (May 2018)
Kleine Zeitung (German)
Podcast at AirCampus Graz (German)
Uni Graz Review (German)

Personal feedback we received:

For a second time I was completely blown away by your performance of Trojan Barbie. Actually, it’s a play that needs to be seen more than once as it is so deep. Once again the acting was quite sensational. Please pass on my warmest congratulations to all the team and especially to Lisa and Eli for their highly professional directing – the Schauspielhaus was a fitting setting to display their, and everyone else’s, exceptional talents.
Best regards and thank you for another amazing evening

Prof. David Newby, author

Climate Change Theatre Action (Nov 2017, June 2018)
Review by Prof. Balestrini (English)
Podcast for Sustainability Days 2018 (German)

1984 (May 2017)
Uni Graz Review (German)
Blog4Tickets – Kulturreferat der ÖH Uni Graz (German)

In the media:

Verliebte Rebellinnen

Regime überrollt Regenbogen: The Pennyless Players hieven Orwells Dystopie „1984“ in Graz auf die Bühne.

Sklaverei ist Freiheit. Darauf fußt das totalitäre Regime des Großen Bruders, dessen Stimme allerorts aus dem Lautsprecher schrillt. Seine Bürger stampfen als uniformierte Werkzeuge in den Boden und ballen ihre Fäuste gegen den Himmel. Winston (Valerie Moser) tanzt aus der Reihe. Hinter ihrem straff geflochtenen Zopf und den dunklen Augenringen verbirgt sich die Sehnsucht nach einem anderen Leben. Julia (Nanne Pyrhönen) trägt zwar nach außen hin die Parteischärpe, bricht aber bei jeder Gelegenheit aus. Dass sich die Rebellinnen ineinander verlieben, ist doppelt brisant. Liebe ist in Ozeanien verboten – erst recht die gleichgeschlechtliche. Überzeugt davon, dass ihre Gefühle stärker sind als die Regeln des Regimes, schaffen sich die beiden ihr heimliches Refugium. Als ihnen die Gedankenpolizei auf die Schliche kommt, findet ihr Traum ein jähes Ende. Werden sie am Gefängnis zerbrechen?

Orwells Dystopie einer totalen Überwachung erlebte in Amerika ein Bestseller-Comeback. The Pennyless Players performen das Drama „1984“ nun mit viel Herzblut auf der Grazer Bühne.

– Julia Braunecker, Kleine Zeitung, May 21st, 2017

Pennyless Players spielen George Orwells “1984” im Grazer Theater am Lend

Alternative Fakten

Nachdem Donald Trump zum US-Präsidenten gewählt worden war, schoss George Orwells “1984” an die Spitze der Bestseller-Listen. Warum der dystopische Roman den Nerv der Zeit dermaßen trifft, kann man in Graz auch an einer englischsprachigen Inszenierung des Klassikers im Theater am Lend nachvollziehen

Von einem totalitären Überwachungsstaat erzählt Orwell in seinem Klassiker. Neben Folter und Unterdrückung dienen dem Regime auch kommunikative Mittel wie “Neusprech” und “Doppeldenk” zur Ausübung seiner Macht – und genau diese erinnern stark an jene “alternativen Fakten” mit denen Donald Trump und Populisten weltweit derzeit in den Wahlkampf ziehen. So ist Orwells Protagonist Winston Smith, der sich auf die Spur der Wahrheit begibt und dafür bestraft wird, neuerdings wieder eine sonderbar moderne Figur, die sich auch auf der Bühne gut macht. In einer präzise am Original orientierten und schmerzhaft detailverlieben Inszenierung (Elli Schneider und David Leersch) bringen die Pennyless Players den Stoff mit einem sehr engagierten Team auf die Bühne. Zu sehen bis 25. Mai im Theater am Lend, der Erlös des Ticketverkaufs geht an karitative Zwecke in der Steiermark.

– Ch. Hartner, Kronen Zeitung, May 2017

Love Conquers All (November 2016)
Uni Graz Review (German)

Personal feedback we received:

After I wrote Love Conquers All, I left it on my shelf to gather dust in the belief that it was too difficult for ‘amateur’ actors to perform. How wrong I was! What a joy it was to sit in the audience (at every performance) and to experience how the Pennyless Players actors breathed life into the play and whipped it up into a storm of emotions. (I know I wasn’t the only person in the audience laughing and crying at the same time.) The level of acting was superb, the production – direction, stage set, filming, props etc. – highly professional. I’m now looking forward to the dvd to experience everything all over again.

Prof. David Newby, author of Love Conquers All

Review by Andrew Milne-Skinner, MA, Senior Lecturer in British Cultural Studies, Department of Translation Science, Innsbruck University (English)

Wyrd Sisters (May/June 2016)
Info Graz, Info and Photos (German)
Uni Graz Review (German)
We Break the Silence (report on our donation to Doctors without Borders)
Jester’s Soundtrack (Radio show with our actors as special guests)

What Happened to Eliza Doolittle? (June 2015)
InfoGraz, Review and Photos (German)
Uni Graz Review (German)

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead (January 2015)
InfoGraz, Review and Photos (German)
Uni Graz Review (German)

Personal feedback we received:

Brilliant acting, creative directing, superb costumes, funny props – a fantastic evening. This was  the fourth performance of Stoppard’s play that I have seen – the first one was in London, I think in 1978. Yours was definitely the best (although the one that I saw on the “Probebühne” here in Graz was quite good too but it is a very “English” play, isn’t it?). Thank you for a delightful evening and lots of success in future,

Renate Vaupetitsch, professor emeritus of linguistics, University of Graz,  Jan 24th, 2015

Ohne Witz. Das Ende war so phänomenal! Gänsehaut und Tränen. Sowohl die slow motion Tode, wie auch die Monologe der zwei. Heftig! Tiefsten Respekt für eure Arbeit!

Sebastian Salmen, student of history and chemistry, Jan 17th 2015

The quality of the production was simply stunning. I must admit I wondered if you would be able to carry off such a difficult play but everything was incredibly professional. The performance of Barbara and Lisa in their very demanding roles was breath-taking – their interpretation and contrasting representation of R & G was of the very highest standard and very moving. It took a lot of acting and directing skill the get the right balance between comic and tragic – the Probebühne production I saw some 10 years ago played it for laughs and lost the whole tragic aspect, which comes across so beautifully in your production. In fact I was just as moved as when I saw the original production in Oxford in 1969 (or thereabouts).

David Newby,  professor emeritus of linguistics and language teaching didactics and research, University of Graz, Jan 16th, 2015

The play was outstandingly good. The Pennyless Players go from strength to strength.

Nancy Campbell, lecturer and dep. coordinator of the European Joint Master’s Degree in English and American Studies, Jan 28th, 2015

Figaro (2014)
Gewitter report about the Pennyless Players announcing Figaro, page 14/15 (German)
Webradio Report (“Figaro Smiles Again”, German, 3,5 mins)
Uni Graz Review (German)
Info Graz, Review and Photos (German)
Report on our donation to Tafel Österreich (German)

Personal feedback we received:

Congratulations! And many thanks for sending along the pictures which I very much enjoyed. It looks charming. I’m sure the rest of your performances will be filled with laughter. I hope a few of those laughs are filled with recognition that the economic and class issues of Beaumarchais’ day, despite the great event some say the play itself un-leashed, remain with us today.

Charles Morey, Author of Figaro, Jan 11th, 2014

I saw your performance last night and want to express my profound admiration for your enthusiasm and incredible skill as actors, singers and organizers. This was a really great performance of a play which is all the more dear to me as it was part of the texts discussed in my (then) Phd thesis on French literature. I think we are a privileged department thanks to your efforts!

Werner Wolf , Head of English Department, University of Graz, Jan 11th, 2014

All in the Timing (2013)
Uni Graz Review (German)
Info Graz, Review and Photos (German)

Picasso at the Lapin Agile (2012)
Uni Graz Review (German)
Info Graz, Review and Photos (German)

Importance of Being Earnest (2011)
Webradio Graz report and interview (German)

Scots on the Rocks (2009)
Uni Graz Review (German)

Doctor Faustus (2008)
Uni Graz Review (German)